Specialising in sustainable interior decorating, I have used several resources and websites that I think you would find useful in starting your journey to a more sustainable lifestyle. I have also included a small selection of beautiful products made by local designers. This list is by no means comprehensive, it's just a snippet of what's out there.

 

Sustainable Design Resources

Good Environment Choice Australia (GECA)     www.geca.org.au

Global Green Tag     www.globalgreentag.com/certified-products-australianz

Your Home Design Page www.yourhome.gov.au/

Green Building Institute  www.greenbuilding.org.au

State of Green www.stateofgreen.com.au/

Home Environment Assessment Kit (Moonee Valley City Council) www.mvcc.vic.gov.au

Appliance Energy Rating Calculator www.energyrating.gov.au

Magazines

Sanctuary Magazine www.sanctuarymagazine.org.au/

Green Magazine www.greenmagazine.com.au/

Peppermint Magazine www.peppermintmag.com/category/home-lifestyle/

Junkies Magazine www.junkiesmagazine.com/

Books

Healthy Home Healthy Family - Nicole Bijlsma

The Smart Living Handbook - Melissa Wittig & Danielle KIng

The Energy Freedom Home - Beyond Zero Emissions

Greeniology & Australian Green Consumer Guide - Tanya Ha

Ecohouse Book - Terence Conran

How to Rethink Building Materials - Edited by Dick Clarke

Rethink the way you live - Amanda Talbot

Green Design - A heatlhy home - Alan Berman

Eco / Sustainable / Upcycling Blogs

Recycled Interiors www.recycledinteriors.org/

State of Green Blog http://blog.stateofgreen.com.au/

Second Hand Directory & Upcycling

The Junkmap www.thejunkmap.com.au/

Bower Centre http://bower.org.au/

Vintage Shop Directory www.vintageshops.com.au/

Furniture & Craftsmen

Handmade furniture directory www.handkrafted.com

Jardan www.jardan.com.au

Materials & Coverings

Green painters www.greenpainters.org.au/

Ecolour www.ecolour.com.au

Livos www.livos.com.au/

Porters Paint www.porterspaints.com/

Whittle wax www.whittlewaxes.com.au/

Anro www.anrofloorcare.com.au/

Cork Flooring www.corkfloors.com.au/

Carpets & Rugs

Armadillo&Co www.armadillo-co.com/

Velieris www.velieris.com/

Floorspace www.floorspace.com.au/

Textiles & Bedding

Ink & Spindle  www.inkandspindle.com

Feliz  http://www.felizhome.com.au/

Sustainable Living Fabrics www.sustainablelivingfabrics.com.au/

Print Ink Studio  www.printinkstudio.com/

The Natural Loom www.thenaturalloom.com.au/

Lighting

Lighting Matters www.lightingmatters.com.au

Who Did That www.whodidthat.com.au

Avargadi www.avargadi.com.au

Green Walls & Facades

Growing Green Guide www.growinggreenguide.org/

Window Farms www.treehuggar.com

Recycling & Repairing Organisations

Recycling near you resource http://recyclingnearyou.com.au/

Melbourne Repair Cafe www.melbournerepaircafe.org/

Ecoactive (Batteries & E-waste) www.ecoactiv.com.au/

BrightSparks (appliances) www.brightsparksaustralia.com/donate/

Brotherhood St Lawrence (appliances) http://stores.bsl.org.au/our-range/fridges-whitegoods/

Kids Off The Kerb (appliances) http://kidsoffthekerb.org/whitegoods-refurbishment-recycling-project/

Zilch (give your things a new home, no charge) http://au.ziilch.com/

Freecycle (give your things a new home, no charge) https://groups.freecycle.org/group/Melbourne/posts/all

Diabetes Australia (Clothes and rags) www.diabetesvic.org.au/get-involved/clothing-collection

Menshed (Tools & Wood) http://mensshed.org/find-a-shed/

Local Aldi & Mitre10 stores take batteries

How Can I recycle...? http://www.recyclethis.co.uk  

DIY Craft courses / workshops

EcoGatherings   www.putyourheartintoit.com.au/

Handmakers Factory www.handmakersfactory.com.au/

The Windsor Workshop  www.the-windsor-workshop.com/

CERES www.ceres.org.au/education/courses/

The Thread Den www.threadden.com

Workshop Classes  www.work-shop.com.au

Lifestyle Stores & Online Shops

Shopwisely   www.shopwisely.com.au/

Goodness Bureau  www.thegoodnessbureau.com/

Biome www.biome.com.au/

Ecochic www.ecochic.com.au/

Ecophilosophy www.ecolosophy.com.au/